Announces Debut EP, Meow Meow Meow, out May 21st on AWAL

LA-based Mexican singer-songwriter and producer MAUMAUMAU has announced his debut EP; Meow Meow Meow will be available on May 21, 2021, via AWAL. Alongside the news, the quickly rising artist is unveiling “Curveball Whip Cream,” an incredible, anthemic song of perseverance detailing the sensation of always coming up short but somehow never giving up.

Opening Mau’s forthcoming five-track EP, the indie rock song perfectly captures the energy and underdog spirit behind the solo project by Mauricio Jiménez. Clever and humorous, Mau discusses his ill-fate and the difficulty of navigating life’s sudden turns as chaotic guitars, otherworldly distortion, and pounding drums create an earworm melody that highlights the alt-rockers catchy hooks and smooth vocals. Check it out below.

On the song, MAUMAUMAU shares: “‘Curveball Whip Cream’ feels like the anthem for this project. It’s an ode to the underdog through and through. It is a song I wrote to depict the sensation of always coming up short but somehow never giving up. It’s a song about acceptance and perseverance. It’s also just a really fun song that hopefully soundtracks all of your little adventures in this crazy new world we’re living in.”

“Curveball Whip Cream” arrives as MAUMAUMAU’s 2020 debut single, “Mouth Breather,” a song about the anxieties of life during the Covid-19 pandemic, surpasses 50K Spotify streams. Last year, Mau also released “Heartbreak Police,” a commentary on police brutality and most recently shared, “B!l!ngval” in February 2021, catching the early attention of Medium’s Authority Magazine, Teal Cheese, and Humankind Zine, who commented, “MAUMAUMAU is an endeavor that is made to last.”

Including four previously unheard tracks, Meow Meow Meow is a standout introduction into the world of MAUMAUMAU. An earnest project, the EP is a sonically bold debut, genre-defying and reflective by nature, melancholic and vulnerable yet charismatic and upbeat, honest, and an enticingly fresh interpretation of overcoming the self-defeating internal dialogues we face daily. See the full tracklist below.

Meow Meow Meow – EP Tracklist
1. Curveball Whip Cream
2. Famous
3. Distracted
4. Alright
5. Happy

Featuring the soaring song, “Famous,” the standout ballad “Distracted,” head-turning crossover “Alright,” and the ambitiously experimental EP closer, “Happy,” MAUMAUMAU’s debut EP, Meow Meow Meow is an unmissable release and will lead listeners through an autobiographical and relatable journey when it drops May 21st, 2021 via AWAL.

See daily news, interviews, exclusive content, live event coverage, and more on Soundazed.

Follow MAUMAUMAU: FB IG Twitter

Connect with Soundazed on Socials


Leave a Comment